North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell ~Review~

“I dare not hope. I never was fainthearted before; but I cannot believe such a creature cares for me.”

North and South

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell is one of my all-time favorite classics. North and South was originally a serial story that appeared in Charles Dickens’ magazine. Margaret Hale’s life is completely uprooted when her father decides that it is best to leave the Church. They live in the south where everything seems idyllic to Margaret. Now, they move north to Milton. Milton is a factory town and the complete opposite of what Margaret is used to. She has never seen poverty and struggle in this way before. She meets a few locals and sees how they struggle in poverty, work conditions, and illness. Even though she is not wealthy herself, she recognizes her privilege and develops of sense of social justice. This determination grows even more heated when she runs in with a mill-owner named John Thornton. Both are set in their ways and polar opposites, especially when it comes to how the employees are treated, but something wonderful happens when they are both willing to open their minds and their hearts…

It really makes so much sense that this story appeared in Dicken’s magazine. Her discussions of work conditions and poverty and very common themes within Dicken’s works as well. To me, this book is the perfect read during Christmas or Winter, just like Little Women or A Christmas Carol. There is something about evaluating oneself at Christmas time. Seeing the world and its hardships can be depressing but we can also do something about it.

The characters are timeless. Margaret Hale is a wonderful female protagonist with fierce wit, compassion, and refuses to let the fact that she is a woman stand in the way. John Thornton is up there with Captain Wentworth or Colonel Brandon for me. Determined, hard-working, and so passionate—but it is BOTH of their character development is perfect. Then there is Mr. Hale, Margaret’s father. He is a gentle soul. Our first view of him, is him leaving the Church and this just shows the content of his character right off the bat. He refuses to be a hypocrite. Stepping away and evaluating his feelings and beliefs is commendable. And finally, there is Mrs. Thornton, John Thornton’s mother. Would I ever want to be in the same room as her? No. She is terrifying but at the same time, I absolutely adore her. Her love for her son is something I can feel in the deepest parts of my soul.

I have to admit, I cried a lot during this book. There is so much death and suffering. But the resolve pulls at your heartstrings. I love, love, love this book. It gets 5 out of 5 stars!

2 thoughts on “North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell ~Review~

Leave a comment